Our Patrons

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM, Governor of Queensland, and Professor Graeme Nimmo RFD.

2023 AGM Annual Report to Members

Management Committee

Our Values

  • Integrity – we will conduct ourselves with honesty and honour for the benefit of the Club and Members.
  • Transparency – we will engage with Members freely and openly.
  • Communications – we will communicate our plans and actions inclusively and widely.
  • Professionalism – we will manage the Club’s affairs with competence, reliability and respect in a structured and formal setting.
  • Accountable – we will be responsible and answerable for our actions.

Commodore & Management Committee Member

David Hamilton

David was elected at the April 2023 management committee meeting to fill the casual vacancy of Commodore.  David has 20 years experience in the retail/wholesale hardware industry, including roles in purchasing, retail & wholesale sales, shipping, transport and distribution and marketing.  

For 16 years he worked as a recreational diving instructor in QLD, NSW and Micronesia.  He has 18 years in the insurance industry, including roles such as Claims handling, Claims lodgement, Claims investigation, Repair management, Cost control and purchasing and Risk Assessment.  His Sailing interests have seen him participate in racing at local and club level since 2002, racing on vessels to 24m.

He has competed in many signature ocean passage events including the Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race (as Skipper), the Bribie Cup, Club Bay racing, Hamilton Island Race week, BMW Winter Classic – Sydney, Sailors with Disabilities volunteer.  He brings a wide breadth of experience to the QCYC Management Committee.  David serves on the QCYC Governance & Risk and Marketing and Promotions sub-committees.

Vice Commodore & Management Committee Member

Linda Honey

Linda was appointed a Director of QCYC Holdings effective 1 July 2023 and serves on the Management Committee of QCYC Inc. She has been an active member of the Club for over 20 years and has competed in the B2G, S2C and many other events on the Club’s Racing Calendar. She operates the Club’s SailSys program.

Linda holds a Cert IV in Business Administration and has extensive Public Service experience, having held management-level positions at the ATO et al. She currently manages marine industry operations at Deagon Slipways. Her business skills include finance, administration, compliance, WHS, staff training & development, project management and contract review.

Secretary & Management Committee Member

Sarah Halligan



Treasurer & Management Committee Member

Barry Brazier



Management Committee Member

Peter Harvey

Peter has served on the board for a number of IT companies for over 20 years and is currently CEO of an Australian IT company with an international presence and holds a number of patents in the area of data management.

Peter is also a musician, composer and producer with published works and has performed extensively both in Australia and internationally in the well known and well travelled musical band “Rough Red.”

He is a long time member of the QCYC and brings to the management committee a passion to establishing and maintaining a music venue at the club with diverse and emerging talent that will contribute to a vibrant Sandgate/Shorncliffe entertainment precinct, thus facilitating and augmenting the club greatly in its operations.  Peter serves on the QCYC Food and Beverage sub-committee.

Management Committee Member

Barry Kairl


Committee and other office bearers

Sailing Committee

Jack Morrison – Chair of Sailing Committee
Herb Prendergast 
Scott Murphy (Honorary Rating Officer) 
Paul Vivian
Joshua Walker
Peter Hackett
John Farmer
John Hoysted
Allan Bolt
Phillipa Bolt
Russell Menere