The 69th Bribie Cup | 19th September 2020

The Bribie Cup Yacht Race is an Annual event organised by Queensland Cruising Yacht Club with the support of the Bribie Island Sailing Club.  As background, the Bribie Cup has been held in early to mid September each year.

The race starts off Shorncliffe, proceeds past Scarborough Point to Deception Bay and finishes near the Bongaree Jetty on Bribie Island.

Bridge FM 99.7 will be crossing for live coverage of the action with interviews of Harley Cowlishaw who will be participating in the events.  The first live cross is scheduled for 12.20pm on Saturday the 19th and the second will be at 9.00am on the Sunday.  Stay tuned to 99.7 FM.

The 2020 event will for the first time incorporate an additional race on the Sunday, being the Interclub Challenge.  At the conclusion of the Bribie Cup race on Saturday 19th September, competitors will cruise in company from Bribie Island back to Scarborough, to overnight there.  Those choosing to berth in the Moreton Bay Boat Club Marina will be directed to the Marina Berth Booking form within the Race Entry form process.

On the Sunday 20th September, entrants will compete in the Interclub Challenge.  This will be a race offshore from Scarborough to follow the course south ultimately to the finish line in the vicinity of the “Coffee Pots.”  Competitors’ vessels will then make their own way back to their respective clubs after the finish.  Thus ending a blockbuster week-end of fun and the making of great memories.

This Bribie Cup race started in 1952 with a single monohull division. The race now boasts up to 4 divisions each year including a multihull division and a classic division.

The Bribie Cup Yacht Race is run with the assistance of Bribie Island Sailing Club and forms part of the season long QCYC Gold Cup.  The Interclub Challenge Race is run with the assistance of the Moreton Bay Boat Club.

The club has a COVID-19 safety plan in place which among other things, is applicable to the ongoing conduct of our racing program.  See the QCYC COVID-19 Safety Plan here to download. The COVID-19 Statement of Compliance is at this link.  


Organised and Hosted by the Queensland Cruising Yacht Club with the assistance of Bribie Island Sailing Club